Craft Time — Wine Corks!

Hello!!

I hope that you have been enjoying my baking posts, but I also wanted to bring back my craft posts. I really enjoy crafting, I think that it is so relaxing and can be so enjoyable. I honestly like crafting more when I am making it for someone else because I can make someone happy with my hard work.

So, if you live in a household like mine with a full house with adults then you will understand why I chose to do this craft.

I found it in Pinterest, you guys if you are not on Pinterest then what are you doing!! I literally live on Pinterest, if it was a job I would be making millions, but unfortunately I am not. But thats okay, because share the amazing ideas with you.

Wine Corks! That is the focus for today! My house has a cute little bin, which you will see in a little bit, that hold our corks. Every once in a while it begins to overflow a little and that is when it is time to start making things with them! The idea was to make a place to pin mail and notes onto for each of the family members and I could not actually find a way to do this when going through Pinterest but I had to make it up a little as I go… so here is my crafting journey.

First, collect all the supplies:

See isn’t our wine cork holder the cutest!

One of the pages that I found on Pinterest said to use a meter/ yard stick, but if you guys have ever shopped for a ruler like this you would know that they are expensive… like honestly somewhat unreasonable. So I have a different idea for you, my mom gave me that idea to use painting stir sticks! This was the greatest idea, I am still so happy that we decided to do this becuase for 6 stir stick it was only like $3!! So I was able to make 6 of them to start. Also, make sure if you want a reasonable size get the 5 gallon stir sticks.

Once I got the sticks I came home and broke into the wine cork jar. I was looking through them I noticed that we has a good mixture of both regular corks and the plastic corks. So I separated them out and made sure to not include the super broken or damaged ones.

Once I got them organized I measure how many could be used on one stick with still having enough room to many a hole on top so that I could hang them. Mine fit 23 corks in total.

My next step was to organize them becuase I am a little crazy like that and I didn’t just want to throw random ones together and make them look uneven. I also decided to use just the regular cork ones for the first one. And then the next one I decided to use the plastic ones and then on the last set I decided to do a combination of both the plastic and the regular cork.

I decided to use the whole cork instead of cutting them in half, just incase you were wondering. The next part of the process was to hot glue gun them down to the stir stick and guess what… thats it! Once you have all the corks glued down onto the stir stick all you have to do is drill a hole in the stir stick so that you can hang them up. Or you can just command strip them onto the wall like that, but it is all up to you!

I put a circle where I wanted the hole to be drilled and then I drilled a hole into the stick carefully. And that is basically all to it!

Below are the pictures of each of the combinations of corks that I made to give you ideas.

This one is made with alternating plastic corks and the regular corks.
This one is made with all plastic corks.
This one is made with just regular corks.

I have the finished product hanging right next to my door on a command hook. The tacks fit into it perfect and dont break up the cork at all. It is the most convenient thing for the entire family!

I hope that you have enjoyed this craft time! If you end up trying out this craft let me know! Have a great week and get crafting!

– Over Caffeinated Dancer

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑